• AIPressRoom
  • Posts
  • Combining Actuals and Forecasts in a single steady Line in Energy BI | by Salvatore Cagliari | Aug, 2023

Combining Actuals and Forecasts in a single steady Line in Energy BI | by Salvatore Cagliari | Aug, 2023

In a number of companies, we have now the Precise Gross sales and Forecasts. We are able to add these numbers to 1 line chart and see two strains. However considered one of my purchasers requested me if he can have one steady line with the Actuals till the chosen month and the Forecast for all months afterward. Right here is how I did it.

To set the context, let’s take a look at the next image:

For this chart, I simply entered a number of numbers in Excel and created a line chart from these numbers.

You possibly can see that the Precise and Forecast Gross sales strains are diverging from one another, which might be as anticipated.

Whereas that is OK generally, my shopper needed to have a distinct view of his information:

As you possibly can see, the goal is to create one steady line. Beginning with January, then going ahead with the Precise numbers per Month till the chosen Month (Set in a separate Slicer). Then proceed with the Forecast numbers. However the cutover on the chosen month should be related to type one steady line.

Furthermore, the cutover level should transfer to the chosen month when he alters the choice for the month.

Nicely, that sounded attention-grabbing.

At first, the request sounded acquainted: I need to choose a particular month, and I need to see the info for all the yr and use the chosen month to do a specific calculation.

I defined an answer to this in considered one of my previous articles: